Recent Searches
Clear

Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum Guided Tour | Skip the Line Tickets

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Roma, Italy
Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum Guided Tour | Skip the Line Tickets

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children0 Infants1 Infant
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon2 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 5 more

Overview

Take a guided tour of the Colosseum, including skip-the-line admission, to get the most out of your visit. By exploring the amphitheater’s first and second tiers with an official Colosseum guide, who has a background in history, art, and archaeology, learn about the origins of this iconic Rome landmark. Hear stories about gladiator battles and Roman emperors, and marvel at the engineering of the ancient structure. Then visit Palatine Hill and the ruins of the Roman Forum.
  • Skip-the-line admission to the Colosseum with a guided tour
  • Learn about the Colosseum's history and engineering from a knowledgeable guide
  • Listen to tales of gladiator battles that once took place here
  • Explore Palatine Hill for views of Circus Maximus and the Roman Forum
  • See ancient ruins like that of the Temple of Julius Caesar and Arch of Titus

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Tour the Colosseum’s 1st and 2nd tiers with an official guide before heading to the forum.
Saved to wishlist!
Skip the line Entrance ticket
3h Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill guided tour, group max 24 people
Official Guide
Earphones (over 8 people)
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Colosseum's underground (unless you book the special option!)
Via delle Terme di Tito, 72 , Via delle Terme di Tito, 72, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

The meeting point is at Via delle Terme di Tito on the corner of Via Nicola Salvi. Our Staff will wait next to the park entrance with a "Tour in the city" sign. MANDATORY meeting time 20 minutes prior tour departure time

Roman Forum , Via della Salara Vecchia, 5/6, 00186 Roma RM, Italy
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Customers have a mandatory meeting time stated 15 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time due to managing and organizational reasons.
  • To get inside the Colosseum it used group ticket and not individual one. It cannot be asked just the ticket entrance.
  • The activity can suffer 20/30 min variation due to organizational resons
  • The order in which the sites are visited during the tour can vary
  • You must have a valid photo ID to enter the Colosseum (student's ID, Driver License, Passport or State ID all work.) You will be asked to also provide your name, last name and date of birth (at the beginning of the tour, if not provided beforehand.) Security may prevent you from entering the site if the information provided is not accurate and/or don't match the one on your ID.
  • Child discount is applied only with a valid ID card
  • Please note that for safety reasons the Coliseum can accommodate up to 3.000 people at once.This could lead to delays in access to the site, even for pre-booked visitors.
  • For security reasons all visitors and their luggage shall be screened.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Near public transportation
  • Forbidden objects inside the Colosseum: bottles and glasses containers, alcholic beverages and aerosols, backpacks, camping, bulky bags and luggage / trolley
  • Please notice that the Colosseum Administration, which depends on the Ministry of Cultural Assets and Activities has the faculty to close the Colosseum, or parts of it, with or without notice, for events, strikes, heavy rain, or any other reason. In which case, we will offer an alternative itinerary as it seems fit and offer a partial refund
  • Activity not recommended for people with motor lag
  • No change on a booking can be accepted after 24hrs to the starting time of the tour. In that instance, no refund will be issued.
  • For the safety of all guests, the tour operator reserves the right to refuse service to passengers who are intoxicated or show signs of intoxication. If, as a result, your tour is canceled, you will not be entitled to a refund.
  • PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED
  • Not recommended for travelers with walking problems
  • Not accessible for walker users
  • We kindly inform you that any kind of disability (visual impairment, hearing impairment,... ) or anything that might prevent you to regularly join the tour, MUST BE communicate in advance to our staff.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tour In Rome by Tour in the City
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This can be a long day so make sure you have refreshments and comfortable shoes." See review
  • "It was a hot day so take plenty of water." See review
  • "Worth every penny to be guided in/out easily and with such a rich explanation along the way." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
1,149 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 1,149 reviews
star-4
Not too bad overall
Michael_D
, Aug 2022
Overall, not bad. When dealing with people from multiple cultures, guide needs to be a bit more sensitive. Being from SE PA I understand that humor, but could be misinterpreted. Very knowledgeable
star-5
Great tour
Lindsey_L
, Aug 2022
Dmitry was a great guide. Most of the tour is spent in the Colosseum with the last hour spent at Palatine hill. You can walk around the forum on your own for as long as you want.
star-5
History is still with us
Barbara_C
, Aug 2022
The tour was amazing and Richard our tour guide was fantastic!! We have learned so much about the history of Italy and Rome. I would recommend the tour to anyone who wants to gain a deeper understanding of the history and significance it holds.
star-5
Good day
Peter_J
, Jul 2022
Nice service, excellent guide who knew topic. Pickup of tickets worked like a charm. Also nice group.
star-5
Great tour !!
Jillian_W
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide George was so informative & friendly! He knew so many interesting facts about every sight he showed us. Highly recommend!
star-5
Valuable
Eileen_c
, Jul 2022
Magda was an outstanding tour guide, very informative and energetic. Booking experience was easy and radios were helpful.
star-5
UNFORGETTABLE TRIP
Ghaida_F
, Jul 2022
The places are fantastic, and the guide is excellent and helpful, there were memorable moments shared with the group, and the guide made the group feel like a family.
star-4
Informative and caring tour of Colosseum, Palatino and Roman Forum
Shari_B
, Jul 2022
Informative way to learn the history of the colosseum. It was a VERY hot day and our guide made every effort to stop and talk in shaded areas.
star-4
Must-see attractions
Angelina_M
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide was great and offered many historical facts along the tour. It was an extremely hot day so she made sure we stopped in the shade as much as possible. Our trip to Rome would not have been complete without seeing the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum.
star-4
Great way to see the Colosseum
John_W
, Jul 2022
Great tour! Got to see all of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Views were spectacular and our guide provided very knowledgeable insight about all the ruins.
star-3
He had the knowledge but could hardly share with bad accent and pronounciation
Vasilis_T
, Jul 2022
The heat and the difficulty to find toilets. It was about right for the price we paid and the short notice. Maybe book a lot ahead in advance next time
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Client, Thank you very much for having taken the time to post a review. We are happy that you acknowledge that some of the issues you raise here, such as the heat and the difficulty in finding toilets, are things we cannot control. We investigated your case and did not receive complaints from you or any other client during and after the tour. In particular, we are dismayed that you felt our guide wasn't giving the best possible service they could during your tour. We do our best to hire passionate and ready guides to engage clients and bring the Colosseum to life. We are surprised to hear that the guided tour was boring as we received much positive feedback from other clients. Should you wish to contact us directly at info@tourinthecity.com with your comments, please do not hesitate to do so and provide your booking reference number so we can follow up with the relevant people for you. Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback once again. Best regards, Stefano - Tour in the city - Team
star-5
Cannot miss this Tour in Rome.
Andrew_G
, Jul 2022
Evis was an excellent tour guide. Highly recommended and extremely knowledgeable. She spoke English very well and maneuvered our group around expertly on a very busy day.
star-5
We really enjoyed the...
Courtney_D
, Jul 2022
We really enjoyed the coliseum! Our guide was very knowledgeable and we learned so much from her. We had a great experience!
star-5
Great tour, great guide
Andrew_C
, Jul 2022
Great historical background and stories that made the sites come alive for the group. Very well organized. Despite sweltering heat and giant crowds, everything went very smoothly. Headsets were helpful in hearing our guide. Very little waiting too, despite long lines.
star-5
A must do!
Cheryl_F
, Jul 2022
Great tour! Knowledgeable tour guide. Wear comfortable walking shoes. There are some steep inclines and stairs.
star-5
Great experience!
Alyssa_T
, Jul 2022
Great experience! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and engaging. We were able to meet the group and then walk over and skip the lines to enter the Colosseum. She took her time explaining the history, but kept a good pace. Definitely worth it. I debated just getting tickets and walking through on our own, which may be fine if you already know the history or want to do personal audio. However, the personal tour guide made the experience more memorable for sure and I learned a ton!
star-5
Amazing tour
Eduardo_D
, Jul 2022
The most memorable portion of the tour was our guide. Amazing explanation and historical details given was superb.
star-3
Day in Colosseum
Liana_G
, Jul 2022
It was well organized tour but our tour guide spoke too fast. The headphones were old style and the quality of the sound was poor. It was kind of boring.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Mrs. Liana, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are really deeply sorry to hear that you felt that the tour didn't live up to expectations. The tour did last 3 hours but just and during and after the tour, we did not receive any complaints from you or any other client. The earphones we use are the last generation and we bought them this year and since now we haven't received any complaints about them. Obviously, it is possible that on hundreds of them one cannot work perfectly and for this reason, we always do a check before the tour starts and we give a few extra headphones to the guides in case of emergency. In particular, we are dismayed that you felt our guide wasn't giving the best possible service he could during your tour. We do our best to hire guides who are passionate and really ready to engage clients and bring the Colosseum to life. We are actually surprised to hear that the guided tour was boring as we received much positive feedback from other clients. The tour guide has been working with us for a long time now, and she has always received 5-star comments the customers who did the tour with her were extremely satisfied. We would like to thank you again for the feedback and we are sorry if the visit wasn't as you expected. Kind Regards Stefano D.
star-5
Worth the visit !!!
Payal_A
, Jul 2022
Enjoyed the tour!!!. It was brutally hot summer day🔥🔥. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Tour leader was there at the meeting point on time.
star-5
Worth it!
Zachary_B
, Jul 2022
Wonderful tour, even though it was the hottest day of our visit. Great tour guide, she was very considerate and knowledgeable.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum Guided Tour | Skip the Line Tickets
Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum Guided Tour | Skip the Line Tickets

star-4.51150

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$61.16

star-4.5213

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$61.16

star-5461

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$41.46

star-5312

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.52

star-5136

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$53.90

star-564

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$46.54

star-4.5400

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$80.85
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations