Recent Searches
Clear

Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Rome, Italy
Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance

From $255.57

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 6 more

Overview

Explore the highlights of the Vatican with significantly fewer people during this 3-hour private tour. Enter the museums a full hour before the crowds with your guide and discover the history and artifacts that kept within its walls. Visit the museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter’s Basilica, with skip-the-line entrance tickets and make the most of your time in Rome.
  • Discover the Vatican city-state on this 3-hour private tour
  • Enter the Vatican an hour before the crowds with an early access ticket
  • See the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter’s Basilica
  • Enjoy a personalized experience with your own private guide
Saved to wishlist!
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
Professional guide for 3 hours
Private tour
Entry/Admission - Sistine Chapel
Entry/Admission - Vatican Museums
Gratuities
Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Food and drinks

Departure Point

00192 Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy

Please note that the guide will waits you across the Vatican Museums entrance, at the bottom of the steps in front of Vatican Museum entrance, opposite to Viale Vaticano 100. Please note: St. Peter's square is not the Vatican Museums meeting point.

Departure Time

7:30 AM

Return Details

00120, Vatican City
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders must be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved, not recommended for customers with limited mobility.
  • Personal photography is allowed during this tour, except in the Sistine Chapel
  • If you arrive late you might loose the entrance at the Vatican
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Italy Wonders SRLS
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance.

Traveler Photos

See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You get an early entry into the Vatican as soon as it opens so no queuing is required, which is wonderful as by 9.00am the queues are down the block." See review
  • "The private tour is more expensive and worth every penny!" See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
41 Reviews
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews
star-5
Highly Recommend! Amazing experience
John_F
, Oct 2021
Our tour guide was amazing! His English was understood with ease and he had so much knowledge! I couldn’t believe how much I was learning while witnessing some of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. Highly recommend!
star-5
Gained knowledge
Donna_G
, Mar 2020
This tour was spectacular. We had Chiara to ourselves and could tailor what we wanted to see. Chiara was informative and interesting- she wove history and facts into stories which helped us to appreciate what we were seeing. I walked away with a greater understanding of artworks and felt I learnt something of history rather than just seeing it. The visual guide of the Sistine chapel was much appreciated and it seemed no other tour group got one of these. A very useful resource! Thoroughly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear DeeGee, Thank you for leaving such a great review! Chiara will be thrilled to read your words! Our team works hard to meet the expectations of our guests and we're happy to read that we've hit the mark with you. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon again!
star-5
Private guide is true only way to go
abuffum
, Jan 2020
Having a private guide is the only way to see the Vatican. Our guide was so knowledgeable and engaging. We asked so many questions
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your lovely review! next time, please, do not forget to let us know who this knowledgeable and engaging guide was so we can congratulate him!
star-5
Wonderful
Anne_T
, Nov 2019
My guide was perfect. Her English was great and her education in art history really enhanced my experience. She also led me back to my hotel and pointed out a good restaurant in the area.
star-5
Cloudia was a wonderful tour guide of the Vatican!
lisamcallahan
, Nov 2019
We took the early morning Vatican tour. Cloudia was early as were we and easy to find. Her knowledge of the Vatican was impressive. As we toured she explained so many facts that we were completely unaware of. I was sure that some of the questions we asked she would not know the answer to but she did. We were raised Catholic. It was my sister and I with my 79 year old Dad. We were worried about my Dad keeping up and navigating stairs. He did skip a few things. Cloudia for saw issues and sent him a different route as he did not want us missing out on anything. She was more than knowledgeable, pleasant and accommodating. You will be lucky if you get Cloudia assigned to your tour
star-5
The only way to view the Vatican Museum
204williaml
, Oct 2019
Our guide Valentina was awesome. She was knowledgeable, patient, and she made the trip personal. We would not hesitate to book with her again.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for choosing to experience the Vatican with Early Entrance!
star-5
Vatican with Claudia
Catherine_P
, Oct 2019
Claudia was delightful and very informative! We have had other tour guides that were good but not as good as Claudia!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for waking up early to enjoy the Vatican with Claudia!
star-5
Vatican Early Tour
Gerardo_D
, Oct 2019
Our tour guide was Romina, she was very knowledgeable, friendly, well spoken and attentive to our preferences. She was interesting to listen to and a joy to be with. We highly recommend a tour with her!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Sounds like your Vatican with Early Entrance with Romina went beautifully. Thank you for choosing to book with us!
star-5
Highly Recommend!
Voyager574151
, Jun 2019
We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide - Hillary was the best! We are a family of 5 (adult kids) and we ALL loved this tour. Her knowledge of the museums and the history of Vatican City is off the charts. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you for this beautiful review, it's wonderful to know your family had a blissful tour experience with Hillary!
star-2
Disappointing guide and tour
Melissa V
, Jun 2019
I will refrain from listing our guide’s name here, but she was highly disappointing. This was a private tour with just my family of four. She made little effort to customize the tour to our interests. In fact, she didn’t even ask our names or where we were from for almost an hour. She was very proud of her 20+ year career as a guide and spend an unusually great amount of time telling us about tour logistics and her relationships with the authorities there at the Vatican. Her style was not a good fit with our family and she didn’t try to match our style at all. She was giving a master class in a art history while we were just trying to understand the basics about how the Vatican is it’s own country. As you can imagine, our teens tuned out after a short time. The other big disappointment had nothing to do with our guide. The description of this tour offers early access ahead of the crowds. This should have been clear that early access simply means you are entering when it opens, not earlier than the standard opening. We met at 7:30am. The Vatican opens at 8:30am. The early access got us in with the earliest guests, but it was just at the standard opening time. When I questioned our guide about this, she had to read the description I showed her to even understand what I was talking about. Then she asked to read the whole thing so she could make sure she delivered whatever it said. She contracts with these tour companies and has no idea what’s being sold to her guests. Overall very frustrating and we were eager to have it end. We met her at 7:30am, entered the museum at 8:30am and she departed at 10:15. Poor value for our money and I would choose a different company and vetted guide next time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Hi, Melissa! I am very sorry to learn about your experience and that you felt your tour was less than personalized and not engaging to your teens. As you probably already deduced from our reviews, it is an exception as we always aim to provide personalized experiences. As for the Vatican opening times, please note that the Museums open to the general public at 9:00 AM so you did indeed access the Galleries in a privileged setting before their opening to the general public. We have passed your feedback on to the guide as we were able to identify your booking. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about this.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance
Private Tour: Vatican with Early Entrance

star-541

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$255.57

star-540

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$102.46

star-5359

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$276.29

star-4.531

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$170.38

star-523

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$322.34

star-551

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$230.24

star-4.54

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$132.39

star-5187

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$230.24

Explore Similar Things to Do