Recent Searches
Clear

Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Roma, Italy
Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

On this semi-private Colosseum underground tour of 10 people or fewer, you can experience this historic Rome icon to the fullest with access to areas that are typically closed to the public—the underground chambers. After skipping the main entrance line, explore the Colosseum with an informative guide, who shares stories about life in Ancient Rome. Get the rare chance to walk through the tunnels, stand where gladiators stood and enjoy a panoramic view. Then visit the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill to complete your tour of Rome’s top ancient sites.
  • Enjoy access to all areas of the Colosseum, including places normally off-limits
  • Explore the Colosseum's underground chambers and see where wild animals were caged
  • Visit the Roman Forum, walk up Palatine Hill and enjoy views of Nero's Circus Maximus
  • Walk in the Gladiators' footsteps on the Arena floor
  • An intimate experience with semi-private groups of up 10 people or fewer

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Secure access to the underground chambers and arena floor
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Semi-private groups of 10 people or fewer for an intimate tour experience
Skip-the-Line Access to Roman Forum & Palatine Hill
Special Skip-the-Line Access to Colosseum Underground and Arena Floor
Dedicated audio headsets so you don't miss a thing
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
Food and drinks
Gratuities
  • Largo Gaetana Agnesi , Largo Gaetana Agnesi, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

    For Tours Departing Before 4:30PM - At Largo Gaetana Agnesi, above the 2nd floor of the metro line B (blue line) stop "Colosseo". If arriving by metro: Upon exiting the turnstiles of the metro, take an immediate right down the tiled hall to the escalator/stairs within the metro station.

  • Trajan's Column , Via dei Fori Imperiali, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

    IMPORTANT: The meeting point is not at the Colosseum. The tour starts on the platform directly in front of Trajan’s Column, located on Via dei Fori Imperiali next to Piazza Venezia. When standing right in front and facing the Victor Emmanuel II Monument, it’s directly to the left across the street.

  • Palatine Hill , Palatine Hill, 00186 Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy
    Your tour starts outside the Colosseum, where you’ll meet your guide, a Roman history enthusiast, and skip the entrance line with your fast-track ticket.

    Inside, begin below ground to explore the Colosseum’s tunnels, chambers and pits. This section of the amphitheater is only open to a select number of visitors each day, so enjoy this exclusive chance to see more than most people do. While you walk through the underground passageways, listen to stories about the wild animals who were held down here and the Roman gladiators who prepared for their battles here.  

    Upon exiting the Colosseum, walk with your guide over to the Roman Forum, once the political heart of the city. Take in the sprawl of ancient ruins, and walk up Palatine Hill, once home to Ancient Rome’s wealthy residents, for a view of Circus Maximus, where chariot races took place. Your tour ends on Via Sacra, the main street of Ancient Rome that links the Colosseum to Capitoline Hill.

    Please note: The order of sites visited may be reversed during your tour.  
    Itinerary
    Stop At:  
    Colosseum
    Begin your tour of Rome’s most iconic monument with Skip-the-Line access directly through the Gladiator’s Gate. Once the main exit for defeated contenders, this special entrance leads you directly to the parts of the Colosseum most tourists don’t get to see. Your first stop is the Colosseum Underground – the backstage area where gladiators prepared for battle. Here, your expert, English-speaking guide will call on their historical and archaeological expertise to let you imagine the space as it once was. Scenery and caged wild animals stood ready to be hoisted into the arena by ingenious pulleys. You’ll practically feel the gladiators’ tense anticipation and hear the roar of the blood-thirsty crowd. Then, walk in the gladiators’ footsteps on a partially reconstructed arena stage – a unique and amazing photo opportunity. And unlike the gladiators, you’ll get to ascend from the Arena Floor to the Colosseum’s second tier, where fans cheered the violent spectacles below.
    Duration: 2 hours 
    Admission Ticket Included
    Stop At:  
    Palatine Hill
    The next stop on the tour takes you back to the very beginning. The Palatine Hill is the spot Romulus chose to found the city that would become Rome in 753 BC – a decision that ended in tragedy for his brother Remus. Here, steeped in history, you’ll enjoy a spectacular preview of your next destination: the Roman Forum.
    Duration: 30 minutes
    Admission Ticket Included
    Stop At:  
    Roman Forum
    The Roman Forum and the Via Sacra, the Sacred Way, were the heart of Ancient Rome. All of Roman life could be found in this bustling marketplace: commerce and trade, political rallies, military parades, and the sacred ceremonies of the Vestal Virgins.
    Duration: 30 minutes
    Admission Ticket Included
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • WE ARE UNABLE TO ACCOMMODATE GUEST BELOW 6 YEARS OLD DUE TO VENUE SECURITY REASON FOR TOUR AFTER 5PM
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Due to Colosseum security regulations, a PASSPORT OR VALID ID DOCUMENT IS MANDATORY to join this tour. It is your responsibility to ensure you have a valid document with you on tour. Passengers who fail to provide a valid proof of identity will be denied entry.
    • On this tour, some of the venues or parts of the venue may be subject to last-minute, unpredictable closures.
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
    • OPERATED BY City Wonders Ltd
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
    See all safety measures taken by Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "There is a lot of walking on uneven ground and climbing of stairs so wear comfy shoes for sure." See review
    • "Take water and ensure you go to toilet before you start as it's quite a way into the tour before a toilet break." See review
    • "Take a water bottle and aome snacks as you will not get a chance to stop and get these." See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    3,645 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    Showing 1-10 of 3,645 reviews
    star-1
    Buyer beware!!!
    Melissa_K
    , May 2022
    Tour started at 11:30. We got there at 11:25, frantically looking for the person in a City Wonders blue shirt by the M (Metro). Saw tons of Viator shirts, asked around, couldnt find them. I call Viator at 11:36, I was told they were already inside?! Keep in mind the meeting point was 2 blocks away and the line for large parties easily took a few minutes to get in. So the guide left early and now Im being told I wont get a refund. I got this for my 9 year old. He was devastated. THIS COMPANY IS THE WORST!!!!! I will be disputing charge with American Express and paypal.
    star-1
    These things happen
    Andrew_W
    , May 2022
    Unable to write a review, trip cancelled by tour operator no replacement offered / available. Refund on the way. I was able to get a tour with another company at an additional cost.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    We are very sorry about your experience. Like many companies in the travel industry, City Wonders faced an unprecedented post-pandemic surge in demand during the past few weeks. This combined with Covid-related impacts caused operational issues, which we are working around the clock to resolve as quickly as possible. What you experienced is not the typical excellent service that City Wonders is known for, and we truly apologize. Please contact us directly if you have any extra queries with your full name & Viator booking reference at customer.service@citywonders.com.
    star-1
    Canceled without notice.
    Keri_K
    , May 2022
    We arrived to the meeting spot the day of our tour only to be told that it was canceled. The staff informed us that they would be unable to rebook us because they were sold out for the rest of the month. They said we had recieved an email regarding the cancelation but the email was sent at 9:45am, for our 10am tour. As an out of country visitor, we didn’t have access to email until we returned to our hotel. The communication was poor and the company should have a plan in place to address issues like this.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience. Like many companies in the travel industry, City Wonders faced an unprecedented post-pandemic surge in demand during the past few weeks. This combined with Covid-related impacts caused operational issues, which we are working around the clock to resolve as quickly as possible. What you experienced is not the typical excellent service that City Wonders is known for, and we truly apologize. Please contact us directly if you have any extra queries with your full name & Viator booking reference at customer.service@citywonders.com.
    star-5
    Wonderful tour
    Daniela_C
    , May 2022
    Marialuisa was our guide, she was amazing! So knowledgeable, her English was perfect, Really friendly and answered all our questions with such enthusiasm. We stayed in our group of 10 for the whole of the tour so it made it more pleasurable to walk around. It was very busy so the skip the line made it worth it. This was by far the best tour we did out of our whole trip to Rome. Marialuisa definitely made the tour that extra bit special. Highly recommend
    star-5
    Great Tour
    Joel_W
    , May 2022
    The meeting point was easy to find. Our guides were very friendly and fairly easy to understand. Very knowledgeable and responsive to questions. Overall a great tour.
    star-1
    Dreadful lack of proper communication, Viator is at fault
    Alison_S
    , May 2022
    Our trip was cancelled we were not properly informed and wasted our time going to do it when it wasn't happening 😠☹️☹️
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    We are extremely sorry to hear about your recent experience. Like a large number of companies in the travel industry, City Wonders has faced an unprecedented post-pandemic surge in demand during the past few weeks. This combined with Covid-related impacts caused operational issues, which we are working around the clock to resolve as quickly as possible to return back to our usual service levels. What you experienced is not the typical excellent service that City Wonders is known for, and we truly apologize. Please contact us directly if you have any extra queries with your full name & Viator booking reference at customer.service@citywonders.com.
    star-1
    City Wonder called the...
    Roger_T
    , May 2022
    City Wonder called the day before our tour to move it up 2 hours, annoying, but ok I get it. We change our day around and make it over in time for the tour and when we get there they say they’re sorry but they have to cancel our tour and didn’t have time to call in the morning. The man in charge was also extremely rude and had no sympathy for the trouble they caused. I will never use city wonders again.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    We are very sorry about your experience. Like many companies in the travel industry, City Wonders faced an unprecedented post-pandemic surge in demand during the past few weeks. This combined with Covid-related impacts caused operational issues, which we are working around the clock to resolve as quickly as possible. What you experienced is not the typical excellent service that City Wonders is known for, and we truly apologize. Please contact us directly if you have any extra queries with your full name & Viator booking reference at customer.service@citywonders.com.
    star-5
    Awesome tour of Colosseum and Roman Forum
    Janice_M
    , May 2022
    Carlo was very knowledgeable and the your was very interesting. Would certainly recommend him as a guide
    star-5
    Excellent tour, superb guide
    Jennifer_N
    , May 2022
    Cristina was an excellent guide, providing so much interesting information. The underground area of the colleseum is filled with fascinating history. So glad we signed up for this skip the line tour.
    star-4
    Not semi private
    Joel_M
    , May 2022
    Tour guide excellent!!!!! NOT a semi private tour! 17 people in our group. Some didn’t make it into a group!
    star-1
    Do not book in Rome
    William_M
    , May 2022
    If it was posible to leave a 0 or no “stars” this company/tour would deserve it. We booked this tour months ago and we were super exited to experience the Colosseum to the fullest. However that was not the case. Fist of all, our original tour time was moved from 3pm to 10am, with little to no explanation; a bit unusual but understandable. Once we arrived at the meeting point at 10am we discovered the true colors of this operation. It was complete chaos, there were 3 different tour groups re-scheduled of the same time. Our group from 3pm, one from 9am and one from 10am… To cut the story short while I tried to talk to the representative from the company to understand what had happened and to see how we could get our money back (I had no luck, he just kept ignoring me), my wife was able to get us another tour with Crown Tours … Again this was a terrible, terrible experience I strongly advise not to use this company. The person that was dealing with the “group organization” or trying should I say, announced by screaming to the crowd that the underground tour would not be happing to to them being short of guides. Once people started complaining he mentioned that it was possible to cancel and get a full or partial refund. We are very glad to were able to do the tour with the other company which was very organized, quick to assist and offered us a lovely guide and we were in a group of 7, if we stayed with the original tour there would have been 17 people (also not what we paid for). Please refund us asap
    star-5
    Excellent guide
    medemaj
    , May 2022
    Carlos was an excellent tour guide. He very much likes Romw, the ruins and the restoration. The only issue is that we paid for the underground tour but didn't get that.
    star-1
    Unreliable and unbelievable
    Michelle_C
    , May 2022
    Terrible instructions on where to meet for someone who doesn’t know the area! We were there in plenty of time but since the directions were so obscure and no one on the phone from city wonders gave me real directions, we were running around and they left without us. We found our tour on the way but hadn’t even gotten near the entrance but they wouldn’t let us join. So frustrating and such a waste of money. When we tried to rebook with Viator, they said city wonders would not do that or refund. So they both suck. Luckily we found the guys the the purple shirts who have us a great tour, although we are out the $180+ we already paid. So frustrating.
    star-1
    Total Disaster!
    Stephanie_S
    , May 2022
    Stay away! The directions to the meet were terrible. We arrived at 11:17 and could not find the tour guide. Called both City Wonders and Viator and neither were of any help. Viator kept saying to go to the City Wonders office. There isn’t one there. It’s a round open area above a closed Metro station. Ran into a CW guide, no attempt to help either. In short, we missed the tour. Will never do business with either again.
    star-5
    Great tour
    Michael_L
    , May 2022
    Great tour! Our tour guide explained everything in detail. The skip the line tickets are definitely worth it.
    star-5
    The guide was so...
    Richard_T
    , May 2022
    The guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. A good tour covering the main area. Time about right too
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Superb day at the Colloseum
    Raymond_P
    , May 2022
    Tour from start to finish was superb. Our guide was called Marie/Maria and she was very informative during the entire tour informing everyone about the Coloseum and also dealing with random questions. A further guide Marcia? did the underground part of the tour again very informative. The tour finished off via a tour outside on the Forum area with excellent photo opportunities and interesting information. If planning on a visit book this tour - for 3 hours it was well worth it
    star-5
    Great guide
    ANITA_D
    , May 2022
    Great guide giving truth vs. Myths . Great history lesson Small group and guide made sure we were always together
    star-5
    Guide was very...
    LaurieA_C
    , May 2022
    Guide was very knowledgeabl and personable. Underground was fasciating and put things into perspective. Always great to take a tour vice on your own. Lots of little things you get from the guide perspective.
    star-5
    Colosseum tour was so well organized!
    Valerie_D
    , May 2022
    Our guide Elizabetha was fantastic. The tour was very informative and interesting! Great way to see the Colosseum

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena
    Semi-Private Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena

    star-4.53645

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $107.70

    star-5293

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $76.15

    star-4.592

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $119.45

    star-568

    2 hours 50 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $249.13

    star-5191

    1 hour 15 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $85.94

    star-4.528

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $107.70

    star-5129

    2 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $70.71

    star-571

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $103.24

    star-5369

    2 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $43.52

    Explore Similar Things to Do