Recent Searches

Mile End Food Tour

Montréal, Canada
Mile End Food Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Montreal’s Mile End neighborhood has an abundance of eating options, but knowing where to begin can be difficult. On this guided walking tour, enjoy a cross section of the finest neighborhood bites, from falafel to chocolates to homemade gnocchi. Hear commentary about the community and get a sneak peek inside the Rialto Theatre (Théâtre Rialto), a Beaux Arts-style ‘20s theater.
  • Take a guided food tour of Montreal’s Mile End neighborhood
  • Enjoy multiple samples from a range of Mile End food businesses
  • Visit the famed St-Viateur Bagel, a neighborhood institution
  • A small group allows for personalized interactions with your guide
Saved to wishlist!
La Panthère Verte - Our journey starts with what has been voted “Montreal's best falafel”.
Chocolats Geneviève Grandbois - Together we savour Montreal's most lovingly produced chocolate.
St. Viateur Bagel (Est. 1957) - We enjoy famous Montreal bagels.
Drogheria Fine - We savour fresh homemade gnocchi with Montreal's best tomato sauce.
Boucherie Lawrence - A neighbourhood butcher shop offering specialty charcuterie.
*Kem Coba - Finish off your tour with potentially the best Ice Cream (in the summer months only)
*Boulangerie Guillaume - French traditional bread and pastries. (Offered in Autumn and Winter )
Bottled water

Departure Point

160 R. St Viateur Est, Montréal, QC H2T 1A8, Canada

The guide will be waiting for you in front of the Restaurant La Panthère Verte. Please make sure you have the exact address on St-Viateur EAST Street. 160 Rue Saint Viateur EAST, H2T 1A8.

Departure Time

12:00 PM

Return Details

60 Av. Fairmount O, Montréal, QC H2T 2M2, Canada

It's a 10 minute walk from the meeting location.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • IMPORTANT: Please advise of any dietary restrictions in the Special Requirements field at the time of booking
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 4 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Local Montréal Food Tours
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More


    70 Reviews
    3 stars
    2 stars

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    Showing 1-4 of 70 reviews
    An excellent knowledgeable guide
    , Oct 2021
    The information about the area. Excellent food choices. Good variety. Good exercise My favorite was the first stop where we meet, le restaurant LaPanthère verte.
    So much fun!
    , Oct 2021
    This was SO MUCH FUN!!!! Our host was engaging, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and an so playful! She made everyone very comfortable, we all felt welcome. The tour itself was fantastic, going from place to place, eating manageable portions at each stop. We would get the lowdown on the location, the history of the food, and the reason she picked this example. Did I mention she made it fun? If you can make this part of your trip, do yourself a favor and take the tour. It was the highlight of our trip.
    , Dec 2019
    Before the tour even started, Justin(our food tour guide) mentioned that one of the flagship venues “Chocolats Genevieve Grandbois” had “disinvited” us. I felt that no proper planning was done to ensure that the tour was comfortable for all individuals. We were walking in -14C for more than 30 mins with decent wind chill, literally causing one of the members in our group to have a strong allergic reaction.  There were times when it felt Justin hadn’t even checked if the venues would accept our group. The theatre Rialto was closed and to be fair he did mention that it would be. But we spent 5 to 10 mins knocking on the doors of the Rialto to let us in. Im just surprised that in these situations why wasnt a phone call made beforehand to make sure the viability of these venues instead on checking out these venues on the “fly”. Then came some of the most amusing moments. As if to compensate for the multiple venue rejections, we were walking across blocks of neighborhood with Justin showing us the eccentric art in people’s backyard. Im sure there is some historic and vibe relevance to it but to me it came to a hilarious climax when Justin eventually started to point on the sewer on the ground in a back alley and talking to the group about the significance it had to its burgeoning neighborhood. To top it all, when we eventually reached the venue of “Drogheria Fine”, the shop didnt let us in. They deflected us to a store room down the street and served us gnocchi and tomato sauce there. Nothing can be better than to hear about the wonders of their amazing tomato sauce in a store room filled with metal racks and abandoned items. We were extremely disappointed especially after reading so many positive reviews about Justin. At no point in the tour did Justin take a quick poll to check if the group was fine or were they comfortable OR to see if the food provided was even at par. It all seemed like an one way stream of words with no intention to make it interactive and comfortable. It looked like Justin was on a mission to complete his tour and we all were tagging along for the ride.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate that you took some of your time to write us a constructive review. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. We work with (often small) local vendors that highlight and represent the neighbourhood authentically. We strongly value our partnership with those vendors, and work together to offer the best experience possible. Unfortunately, that means that there are some situations, especially during the holiday season, that we cannot control. On the day of your tour, we had to make modifications to the tour in order to accommodate our very busy vendors. We believed we were offering a tour with the same standard of quality as usual. However from your comments I see it was not satisfactory to you and for that I apologize. We will make sure to take your comments into consideration when preparing for such situations in the future. The weather being what it is in Montreal, we try to do our best to make sure everybody is warm and dry even if it is a walking tour. The gnocchi you ate in the production and storage room is usually eaten outside, as the gnocchi is sold from a window counter. Being inside the storage space for that portion of the tour is a modification we do only in the winter. Since this “on the go” gnocchi has become a staple of Mile-End life, we chose to keep it as it represents the neighbourhood accurately. The historical and cultural stops are a major part of our tours and I am sorry to hear that you didn't feel connected to the information that was provided. Some types of content are not for everyone, and it is unfortunate indeed that it was the case here. Again, I apologize for the experience you had and do hope that the rest of your time in Montreal was a success. Sincerely yours, Louis-Claude Rioux
    , Nov 2019
    Had so much fun despite the cold weather with our tour guide Carolina! She was very knowledgeable about the neighborhood and made our tour quite interesting and of course delicious! Our favorites were the champignon bread from the French bakery (forgot the name, sorry!) and the Gnocchi from La Drogherie (sp?). But all in all, would definitely recommend this tour if you're visiting Montreal!

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Mile End Food Tour
    Mile End Food Tour


    3 hours

    Free Cancellation



    3 hours 15 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    2 hours

    Free Cancellation



    2 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    3 hours

    Free Cancellation




    Free Cancellation



    3 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    5 hours

    Free Cancellation



    3 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation


    Explore Similar Things to Do