Recent Searches
Clear

Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip

star-4.5170 Reviews
|
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Explore a picturesque landscape of quiet canals, wooden bridges, and Dutch homes on a full-day our from Amsterdam to Giethoorn, the ‘Venice of the Netherlands.’ This full-day Giethoorn tour includes transport from central Amsterdam, a boat cruise through Giethoorn’s canals, and a city walking tour.
  • Giethoorn day trip from Amsterdam
  • Visit a traditional Dutch village
  • Canal cruise of Giethoorn
  • Round trip transportation from a central meeting point in Amsterdam
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional driver and/ friendly guide
1-Hour Whisper Boat Trip cruising around canals in Giethoorn, you may experience driving the boat!
Gratuities
Food and drinks
Hotel and Airport pickup (may be available at additional cost)
Hotel NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace , Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

Pls wait in front of the main entrance of the hotel, or in the lobby in case of raining or in cold weather. Pls be reachable on your mobile.

10:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Meet a guide and group in central Amsterdam and board a luxury van or coach for the trip to Giethoorn. Giethoorn’s city center is filled with canals and is entirely car-free, so start by exploring on foot: walk at the water’s edge as traditional, flat-bottom punters cruise between small farmhouses.

Board a boat for a tour of Giethoorn, cruising down the village waterways, ducking under wooden bridges, and learning about life in the area, which was once a waterlogged swamp. After the boat tour, choose to have lunch organized by your guide (own expense), or have some free time to explore Giethoorn on your own, following narrow walking paths, browsing for souvenirs, or simply soaking up the easy-going atmosphere of the village. Don’t miss Giethoorn’s distinctive thatched-roof houses, which are fringed with small patches of green grass and compact gardens.

At the end of the afternoon, make the return trip to Amsterdam, where this tour concludes.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Cherry Travel & Tours
Meet and greet by our friendly guide and then transferred to minivan or bus. Head directly to Giethoorn for 1 hour boat trip, 1 hour lunch time with arrangement by the guide at extra cost (optional), followed by 2 hours walking tour.
Duration: 4 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Wheelchair accessibility needs advance notice at the time of booking.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cherry Travel & Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a beautiful nature and a relaxing day." See review
  • "The day we went it was overcast with occasional rain." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
170 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 170 reviews
star-5
Wonderful Day!
Diane_H
, May 2022
The day was perfect as was the weather, the small group and our guide Cherry. We stopped at the windmills first then Giethoorn. Just the right amount of time was spent at each place and Cherry even stopped on the way home at some beautiful tulip fields for a quick photo stop. Cherry was very kind, knowledgeable and made sure everyone had a great time which we all did. Her driver was also very nice. I would highly recommend Cherry and this tour!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Diane, I am very glad that you went on the tour run by me, great meeting you. You are such an energetic and well travelled lovely lady. When you told me that you don't usually write reviews and you would like to write for me, I am flattered. I had a fun day, lots of good conversation about travelling and shared so much with you and the lovely group from all around the world. Very good vibes on the tour. Keep exploring and keep enjoying! Regards, Cherry
star-1
Poor experience
Archana_B
, Apr 2022
This trip was horrible. A man from the group was missing and the tour guide wasn’t even bothered. I would never recommend this even to the people I hate most. Thanks to this trip, we will never be able to step foot onto a one decker bus. Absolute trash experience. Complete waster of time and money. WE WANT A REFUND!!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Archana, I see that you have written two reviews. Before the trip, you have contacted me a few times for arrangements to make sure your two groups are together. We made it happen during the busiest time yet the most beautiful time in NL. We had to arrange a bus to accommodate all of you who want to travel at this time. We have sent messages to the group about this arrangement, anyone who did not agree could cancel the booking. We care about our customers. We have shortage of staff due to the pandemic, this happens to all tourism businesses. Maybe you should have booked a private tour. It it a surprise from you knowing that some people from your group told me that they enjoyed the tour. We should be thankful we got to see and do every attraction listed on the tour. Your group even got a private boat with me. During the pandemic, guides changed job, and the energy crisis in Europe makes it harder running touring businesses. Running tours is my passion and it will not change that no matter what happens. Thank you for your kind attention. Regards, Cherry
star-1
Disastrous and tragic experience with emotional trauma and panic
Archana_B
, Apr 2022
1. Not a small tour 2. Very disorganized 3. Poor instruction 4. Unsafe and dangerous 5. Deserted the guests on the boats and there was an accident (fortunately not involving our groups) 6. She cannot run a tour for nuts. We want our money back! Please respond
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Archana, I see that you have written two reviews. Before the trip, you have contacted me a few times for arrangements to make sure your two groups are together. I made it happen during the busiest time yet the most beautiful time in NL. We had to arrange a bus to accommodate all of you who want to travel at this time. We have sent messages to the group about this arrangement, anyone who did not agree could cancel the booking. We care about our customers. We have shortage of staff due to the pandemic, this happens to all tourism businesses. Maybe you should have booked a private tour. It is a surprise from you, knowing that some people from your group told me that they enjoyed the tour. We should be thankful we got to see and do every attraction listed on the tour. Your group even got a private boat with me. During the pandemic, guides changed job, and the energy crisis in Europe makes it harder running touring businesses. Running tours is my passion and it will not change that no matter what happens. Thank you for your kind attention. Regards, Cherry
star-5
Great day trip to Giethoorn
Kathryn_M
, Apr 2022
Great day out, our guide Aku was fantastic, he even agreed to an impromptu short detour to see some tulip fields which wasn't part of the programme. He made sure our day was special. Highly recommend this tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
We had a wonderful time,...
Emy_J
, Mar 2022
We had a wonderful time, our guide AKU was fantastic! The place is a must to see in Amsterdam. You can enjoy the view of Netherlards country side on the road.
star-4
Excellent Giethoorn trip worth visiting
Allan_C
, Mar 2022
Boat ride on 1m shallow water ways was a great experience except we did not get to ride the boat ourselves, what a pity.. Beautiful sunny day on our visit. Excellent tour guide - Mr Aku - whim gave in depth explanation & guides... It was a superb experience for us in Giethoorn Town:)
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Allan, Appreciate it very much for your review. It means a lot to us especially during this hard time. The boat trip we offer is more fun with electric boat, unlike other tours offer a boat with big crowds on board. We offer our small group to drive the electric boat for fun experience, this time sorry you didn't get the chance to. Sorry but it didn't affect the fact that you enjoyed the tour very much. We hope to welcome you or your friends from your country to travel back in the Netherlands and join us again. Wish you happy travels! Regards, Cherry
star-5
Aku was fantastic,...
James_H
, Nov 2021
Aku was fantastic, courteous and informative. We were a bit disorganized and Aku was accommodating and friendly.
star-4
Acu was a very good guide...
Ali_S
, Nov 2021
Acu was a very good guide and was really interested in delivering the information of the place I really recommend him for a guide
star-4
fun on land and water
Joan_M
, Aug 2021
The Zaanse Schanse Giethoorn tour felt intimate- the tour guide (Cherry Tours) was friendly and knew her route very well. The boat ride was also great fun. Only problem was the crowded canal.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Joan, Thank you for your good review for Cherry Tours. Now it is the most beautiful season for Giethoorn with hydrangeas in bloom and warm weather. I enjoyed very much with you driving our own boat cruising around the historic centre. Wish you well. All the best for your children studying in NL! Regards, Cherry
star-3
Great tour based on venue
Hazel_H
, Aug 2021
Needed more info about passing sights on the drive; needed more info from guide on specific sites in the area.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Hazel, Thank you for your time writing us a review and we will take that as an advice, always room for improvement. In fact, that's what I do pointing out interesting facts and add in more information about our country or even Europe. I run tours not only in the Netherlands, I run tours around Europe too. Telling my groups about the sights we pass by eg. the largest man-made lake IJsselmeer, the newest province Flevoland and polders along the way. Sorry to hear about the fact that is not enough. We thank you for joining us and wish you happy travels! Regards, Cherry
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip
Likely to Sell Out
Giethoorn Small-Group Day Trip from Amsterdam With Electric Boat Trip

star-4.5170

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.93

star-537

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$138.48

star-589

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.98

star-3.59

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$213.62

star-4.519

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.95

star-54

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.54

star-00

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$228.11

Explore Similar Things to Do